2014 BDM Grand Slam Awardees

Bataan Death March Ultra Marathon (BDM) Grand Slam Award/Trophy is given to an ultra runner who finishes the Bataan Death March 160K Ultra Marathon Race (BDM 160) and the Bataan Death March 102K Ultra Marathon Race (BDM 102) in succession within a year, a period of 4-5 weeks between the two ultra events.

For the past 4 years since the first edition of the BDM 160, there were ultra runners who were brave enough to do the impossible and they were awarded the first BDM Races Grand Slam Award/Trophy. Ultra Runners Jonnifer Lacanlale and Arturo Virata were the first BDM Grand Slam Awardees in 2011. They became the “idols”  of our Pinoy Ultra Runners. What made these two gentlemen extra special and admired by their peers was that the two races were one week apart!

Starting in 2012, I decided to schedule the BDM 160 on the last weekend of January and have the BDM 102 on the first weekend of March. With such development, more finishers of the BDM 160 were able to recover with the 4-5 weeks period in between the two races and received the much-coveted BDM Grand Slam Award. (Note: I will have another post in this blog to publish the BDM Grand Slam Awardees for the years 2012 & 2013)

Fast Forward. For this year, 2014, the number of BDM Grand Slam Awardees had increased more than twice compared last year and the number of Lady Awardees had also increased. Almost all the Lady Finishers in this year’s BDM 160 joined and finished the BDM 102 this month.

The following are the 2014 BDM Grand Slam Awardees:

1. Carl Balagot

2. Sandy Alentajan

3. Carlo Gonzales

4. Tess Leono (F)

5. Dante Sagayap

6. Glairold Recella

7. Meljohn Tezon

8. Joseph Sibal

9. Gia Estrella (F)

10. Wilnar Iglesia

11. Lao Ogerio

12. Ofelia Lorete (F)

13. Sheryll Quimosing (F)

14. Joel Sison

15. Noel Ko

16. Mark Tibo-oc

17. Myk Dauz

18. Marlon Saracho

19. Dindo Diaz

20. Ryan Sison

21. Hermie Saludes

22. Lyra Valles (F)

23. Emerson Sto. Domingo

24. Neil Broncano

25. Randy Racho

26. Peach Tamayo (F)

27. Ariel Briones

Congratulations to the 2014 BDM Grand Slam Awardees!

2014 BDM Grand Slam Trophy
2014 BDM Grand Slam Trophy
2014 BDM Grand Slam Awardees
2014 BDM Grand Slam Awardees

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s