Miyazato & Semick: Champions in the 23rd IAU 100K World Cup (2009)

I’ve been reading the published prizes of the winners for the BOTAK 100K Paa-tibayan Race which will be conducted this coming Sunday, 28 June 2009 and I was amazed with the list of prizes for the ultramarathon distance races (50K, 100K relay and 100K solo).  With the amount of cash prizes published and the offer for  trips abroad to compete in international ultra distance races, I conclude that  more sponsors are ready to cash-in and support our ultra runners and ultra running events in the country. This is a good sign that finally, ultramarathon is a sports that is being developed and promoted to everybody.

In one of the prizes, I found out that any runner who would finish the 100K solo race below 8:30 hours will be given a free trip and a chance to compete in an ultra running event in the USA or Australia. This is a nice incentive for the top runners of this event. I commend the Race Organizer of this event of thinking and offering this incentive for the winners.

As of the 1st BDM 102K, Eduardo Villanueva, the Champion of this race, finished the event in 9:09:54 hours but it was a 102K distance race. Assuming that his average pace was 5:24 mins/km for the entire race, Ed Villanueva could have finished the 100K distance in 8:49:30 hours. Almost 20 minutes short of the 8:30 hours limit but the BDM102 had a harder course in its 1st half and the weather during the day on the 2nd half was hotter then.

If there is a runner-participant who has a record finish time for the marathon distance of 3:15 hours or lower, he could easily finish the BOTAK 100K solo race within or less than 8:30 hours. If Ed Villanueva is running this event, I hope he could make it below the 8:30 hour limit.

Below is an article of  Nadeem Khan, the Director for Communications of the International Association of Ultrarunners (IAU), published in their website which could be an added information for the ultrarunners and participants of the BOTAK 100K Paa-tibayan Road Race.

Is there anybody interested to participate in the 24th IAU 100K World Cup in Gibraltar in November 2010? Please leave a comment.

Miyazato and Semick win the 23rd IAU 100km World Cup   (Nadeem Khan, 23 Jun)
  Yasukazu Miyazato (JPN) and Kami Semick (USA) won the 23rd IAU 100 km World Cup. The race was held on June 19th – 20th in the beautiful town of Torhout, Belgium one hour away from Brussels. Teams from Japan and USA won the men’s and women’s team divisions respectively. Jonas Buud (SWE) and Irina Vishnevskaya (RUS) won the European Championship. Italy won the men’s team title and Russia won women’s.  On June 19th-20th, Torhout, Belgium was the site of the 23rd IAU 100 km World Cup and European Championship. The race was hosted by the ‘Night At Flanders’, a historic race that celebrated its 30th Anniversary during the festive weekend. There were over 200 athletes participating from 28 countries in the World event and there were a several others contesting the race in the open section. The race was unique in its setting as the run started at 2000 hrs having the runners through the night.


The men’s division was won by Yasukazu Miyazato (JPN) in 6:40:43. He was followed in by Jonas Buud (SWE) and Giorgio Calcaterra (ITA) in a time of 6:41:49 and 6:42:04 respectively.


Miyazato ran a very strong and consistent race running in the front of the pack from the very start. He had a tough run through the third of the race battling with his Japanese team-mate Masakazu Takahashi who finished 5th.


Buud on the other hand, ran a very tactical race, as did Calcaterra coming from behind in the latter stages of the run and making solid ground over the other runners. Calcaterra was the returning champion having won the 22nd edition of this race in Tarquinia last year.


This race also doubled as the European Championship with Buud taking top honours with Calcaterra in 2nd place and Marco Boffo (ITA) taking the bronze medal.


The women’s race was won by Kami Semick (USA). Kami was the top runner coming into this event from last year and lived up to the pre-race hype and expectations. She ran a time of 7:37:23.


She was followed into the finish line by last year’s 4th place finisher Irina Vishnevskaya (RUS) in a time of 7:46:25. 2007 bronze medalist, once again grabbed the 3rd place, Monica Carlin (ITA) came in a time of 7:53:57.


Carlin had the early lead, but about 40 km into the race Kami took the lead and never relinquished it. Vishnevskaya ran another tactical race coming from behind to grab the silver medal.


Vishnevskaya won the gold in the European Championship. Carlin grabbed the silver while Helena Crossan (IRL) got the bronze medal.


In the team competition, Japan won the men’s division followed by Italy in the silver medal spot and France getting the bronze. Italy won the European Championship men’s division. France grabbed the silver medal and they were followed by Spain.


USA won the gold in the women’s team competition followed by Team Russia and Japan. In the European Championship, Russia took the gold in the women’s division followed by Teams from Germany and Italy.


The race was enjoyed by all and running through the night did bring a unique experience to the weekend of festivities. Athletes, Team Managers and Officials are looking forward to the 24th IAU 100km World Cup in Gibraltar in November 2010.



One thought on “Miyazato & Semick: Champions in the 23rd IAU 100K World Cup (2009)

  1. That’s pretty amazing about the prize money. Here in the US there is hardly any prize money for ultra-running. Northface is the first to offer substantial prize money in their series. Great news and I hope someone wins the prize.

    I was, like many ultrarunners, particularly elated to hear of Kami Semick’s win and the success of the other women in the team. The woman is over forty and still runs like a machine. Truly inspirational. 4th place Devon is based here in the SF Bay Area and I see her spectating and helping out at the races. In fact she was in San Diego. Good to see her doing so well.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s